Day 8: Take The Plank Out Of Your Own Eye

It is scary to see others full of greed. They want more and more at whatever cost. It hurts to see it when they are the people you love. It is almost as the person you thought you knew never even existed. It is so terrifying that it almost becomes comical.

It is even more scarier when you realize that you are no different from them. That you have greed in yourself too. In me, I am greedy. I try to stop myself but at times, I can’t help it. It is an on going process that I am working on. There is just that constant reminder that: If I’m judging someone else, someone else is also making a judgement on me. How would that make me feel. A passage from the Bible also helps me:

Matthew 7:1-5 NIV

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

To not judge others forces you to understand others. Or at least, attempt to understand others. Therefore, when I see other people being greedy, maybe I should understand why they were greedy in the first place. Only when you know one’s full story can you make an opinion on it.

Song of the day

Laura Story – Blessing.
This song really helped me grow spiritually.

During one of my lows in my growth in Christianity, I was so angry at God. I was unhappy about my situation. I was confused why He placed me at my job and why I was stuck at one spot. I felt suffocated and again, angry. I was so frustrated with Him that I gave up on Him. I fell into a spiral of bad habits and bad addictions. Not drug addiction or anything biologically harmful but it definitely affected my characteristics. I became a stranger to Him and most of all, to myself. I was becoming someone who I would dislike, who I would judge. My cousin shared this song with me. In her own annoying way, it did get to me eventually. Not brainwashed but more like, “fine, I’ll see what you have to say” kind of attitude toward it. I was raised as a Christian so I definitely believe in God. I was just angry. This song helped me see things in a slightly different view. At that moment, it didn’t change me entirely about my view of God, but I was able to connect to this song and I slowly turned around from my ways. Slowly. My walk with God is still a gradual process. Step by Step; Day by Day; Moment by Moment.

^ the above seems like a pretty good start for my testimony…hm..
ANYWAYS, Song is Below:

“Blessings”

We pray for blessings, we pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering
And all the while, You hear each spoken need
Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things’Cause what if your blessings come through rain drops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

We pray for wisdom, Your voice to hear
We cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt your goodness, we doubt your love
As if every promise from Your word is not enough
And all the while, You hear each desperate plea
And long that we’d have faith to believe

‘Cause what if your blessings come through rain drops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

When friends betray us
When darkness seems to win
We know that pain reminds this heart
That this is not,
This is not our home
It’s not our home

‘Cause what if your blessings come through rain drops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near

What if my greatest disappointments or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy
What if trials of this life
The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are your mercies in disguise

-misscarriehohoho
Leave a Reply

